top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCarson Landry

Honoring essential workers

Today at noon, many carillons across Belgium sounded with the song "Ik Hou Van U" ("I love you") by the band Noordkaap to show appreciation for medical workers after their full year of personal sacrifice. Since many carillonists have playing jobs in multiple cities and can't be in two places at once, some extra help was needed, and one of the faculty asked me to play in Puurs. The recital there was especially meaningful because the town is home to a Pfizer facility that's been producing the covid vaccine for months. Also, the carillon is similar to the one I first played at Principia College, so that was nostalgic.

In addition to the tribute song, I played a brief program with other supportive music and also some Bach since today's his birthday! Afterwards, some members of the board that manages and funds the carillon were unexpectedly waiting to greet me. My teacher's advice to always play as musically as I would if a mentor or critic were listening suddenly rang true. Luckily, I had been attentive regardless, and they were very kind. I'm so grateful to have helped to recognize the essential workers on the front lines during this difficult time.

On the way home, I spotted St. Rombouts tower from three miles away! Always good to know you're headed in the right direction, ya know?

57 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Ghent

bottom of page